Adventures At Lake Norman

MVG  Joan and Skyler July 2015

Once upon a time, on a galaxy far, far away, Mama married PawPaw for the first time, and not only became a member of his family;  she also met PawPaw’s family friends of long standing, and their family.   They shared many happy weekends with these friends.  This past weekend, we were invited to Aunt Joan  (pictured above) and Uncle Garren’s house to visit, meet their five year old  twin grandchildren Margo and Graydon,, and to visit with the twins’ pawrents.

Roll the film back a week, and I am being fitted for a life preserver….why, I have no clue.  But all becomes clear when we get to the lake,  I go down to the dock for the first time and get used to the rise and fall;  I take my very first swim, and go on my first boat ride!.   Our first night there,  we went for a  boat ride around the lake. It was a beautiful evening,  and we saw a lot of interesting (translation MASSIVE) houses both completed and under construction.  Auntie Joan’s son John made the observation that you never saw the owners of the massive houses enjoying them.  No Great Gatsby parties.  Kind of sad.  I loved the breeze in my fur, all the lights, and watching the  boats we passed.  We cruised over to where my pawrents kept their sailboat, Puddles.  It is now a very upscale community with a  marina that  is nothing like where Puddles was docked.

The next day,  Auntie Joan (pictured above), found a special mesh raft for me to sit on, and The Mater pulled me around for a while, and then held on to me whilst I dog paddled (the life preserver has a handle for this very purpose).  Then we sat on the boat and observed the water traffic.  I do so love the water!

Now I must report on the twins. There had been a lot of coaching going on, so we had fun together!  They were very good with me, and everyone praised them.  They knew not to give me any people food, but a few tidbits did slip from their plates and I was there to enjoy them…we are talking rice and chicken, so nothing that would upset my tums. Uncle Garren was carefully monitoring my water bowl, and otherwise looking out for me. Everyone had done a great job coaching the twins –  they are very smart and  were very respectful of me.  I think I am their very first Scottie pal !

Because I had been so busy in the water, and Mama had taken me for a long walk early Saturday morning, I fell asleep on The Mater that evening during the movie marathon.  Aunt Joan, Uncle Garren and Mama watched Chicago which   Mama had never seen before.  She was dazzled!   After Chicago,  Uncle Garren turned in,  and The Second Best Marigold Hotel was screened.  Don’t ask me about either movie, cause I was logging some big ZZZZ’s.  Mama sez both were great!

And presto, it was Sunday and time to head back home. A magical weekend with wonderful friends…who could ask for more? Tell that to the stupid woman who surrendered me.  Good thing she did, or else I would never have found my furever home with PawPaw and Mama.  To quote Dr. Suess…..oh, the places I’ve been!

Umm, if my tums looks a bit expanded in this photo, it’s because Aunt Joan is a wizard cook…and  generous with what’s good for a pup to have in his bowl.

Till next time, SB, man of the water!

5 comments

  1. indyandlucy · July 20, 2015

    What an exciting adventure. We would have liked to have met PawPaw.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Skyler Braveheart · July 21, 2015

    Thanks! He was very happy when they picked me up, and was always very good to me. He would say, “Mommy, this dog is very smart!” Neither she or I could figure out why he called her Mommy. She was Mommy the first time around too.

    Like

  3. Kismet · July 21, 2015

    OK, I’ll bite. How many time has Mama married PawPaw?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Skyler Braveheart · July 21, 2015

      Only twice. and it was quite nice for a while, then he got sick & died. End o’ story.

      Like

  4. Skyler Braveheart · July 21, 2015

    Hey Kismet…Mama and I just got the joke! (I’ll bite). That was funny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

