Who Says You Can’t Go Home Again?

Stacys yoga mat stencils

PawPaw always told Mama that she lived too much in the past, and in his view, why bother?  The Mater would always say, “Dude, if I hadn’t gone back into the past, you wouldn’t be here right now (a story for another time).”  That normally shut him up, until the next time, the past would rear it’s head. The Mater went back into the past to get me in a way (The Alabama Scottish Terrier Rescue Association is HQ’ed in Montgomery, Alabama, where Mama lived for ten years), and look what a great idea that was!  So, when Mama had a chance to meet up with an old friend, someone she shared very happy memories of and with,  she hopped in the car and drove to Charlotte yesterday (about 90 minutes each way, traffic willing), leaving me in the care of our neighbors across the street….many texts were exchanged, mostly reports on how well I was doing (breathing, eating, playing with ball, went walkies several times, made doodles)….but I digress.  Mama had a wonderful time, learned a great deal about sediment and streams, had no problems reconnecting with her friend, and came home, a happy camper.  I guess I am curious to know your feelings about the past….some of you had terrible pasts, some of you came straight home from your Breeder….we’ve all come thru some turbulent times…but let’s humor the Mater, and let us know what you think about “The Past”.  In case you are wondering, the above stencil , it has been painted  on an actual parking lot in Charlotte right by The Revolution Sports Complex, and  shows how sediment flows off pavement and parking lot, into streams, clogging the streams and in effect, killing them.  It is part of a bigger installation, the ultimate goal being  to demonstrate  what we can do to save our streams, encourage birds and bees……you get the idea.  The paint is the same type that is used to  stripe interstates, designate handicapped areas, and warn about curbs, so it has a long shelf life.  The stencils were made from specially cut Yoga mats.  How cool is that ?  That’s Mama’s friend from the past !

11 comments

  1. indyandlucy · May 3, 2015

    I am a Scottie; my breeder was and is a good one. My parents were overjoyed to get me and I had 8 wonderful weeks….then it happened…Sister arrived. We are present time around here. We eye the past with selective memory–just keep the good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kismet · May 3, 2015

    Both Kaci and Kali were rescues and were pulled from death row in kill shelters. Kyla (RIP 12/2014) was a rescue who was probably a product of a Mexican puppy mill. Kaci and Kali are mixes but Kyla was full Scottie.

    Like

  3. Skyler Braveheart · May 4, 2015

    Kismet, how awesome they were saved! Mama just starting to work with a local Rescue, and has been able to see the before and after for several dogs.. The before really sucked. After Vet care, grooming, etc they still have their issues, however, their eyes are alive, and they seem to know they are safe. Mama sometimes boo hoos…for what they have been through, and, for their happy ending. She is weird that way. Thanks for responding! SB

    Like

  4. Leah and Mac ;) · May 4, 2015

    My Sweet Short Boy, Mac, came home straight from the breeder’s arms into mine! We have definitely had a “past” these last nine and a half years! I’ve aged about 16 years during that time . . . but I wouldn’t trade even a minute of it for anything! He is my heart now and forever! 💙

    Like

  5. Skyler Braveheart · May 4, 2015

    It’s really special to have your hooman from the very beginning ! You’ve been training her, I can tell…good boy Mac!

    Like

  6. Cheryl Fugate · May 4, 2015

    In our family some of us have good pasts and some not so good. The boys were all lucky to have wonderful breeders and mom still talks to them sometimes two three times a week. Miss Kiera not so good she was sick when she came to live with mom and dad then less than a month after she came she had to have both front legs broken and half inch remove from each one of them so,she would not be a cripple. Sometimes things are to much for her and she hides in the pantry, sometimes she will sit next to a person but if you touch her she leaves it she loves us boys and her big safe yard. Sometimes mom is sad for what she says Kiera could,have been if she had been given a chance early in life but the present is good so we look forward and not back

    Like

  7. Skyler Braveheart · May 4, 2015

    Mama’s first two Scotties, Josh and Noah, were gifts from the same breeder, and, like you, they have a mutual admiration society. When Noah crossed, Gail was retired and didn’t have any dogs, so Mama said, no prob, I would like to rescue. I think I was turned in by my previous owner, and I was about two. Josh and Noah were about five when Mama got them . The Vet who neutered and chipped me said I was a biter, but on balance, Mama has not found that to be true. She thinks I am snugly and very sweet natured. My heart hurts for Miss Kiera…that all sounds very painful, the silver lining is that she found you all, however, that sounds very rough and very painful.

    Like

  8. Cheryl Fugate · May 4, 2015

    You don’t look like a biter in your pictures you look Scottie sweet. Miss Kiera for all the pain she suffered never once tried to bite a person on the other hand she does like to keep the boys in line or any other dogs that come to the house.

    Like

  9. Skyler Braveheart · May 4, 2015

    Thank you! Mama thinks I am a lamb chop. Bless Miss Kiera (we love her name). I don’t blame her being alpha. It is true, I am very loving. But there are not a lot of other dogs that I like. Mama blames herself, as we don’t mingle with other dogs that much. She wanted to rescue a female Scottie, who had been a puppy mill dog. I had to put my paw down. Mama was sad, but Ava did find a very loving home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

