Social Skills and Me…A Work In Progress

Skylerbear with Jacky August 2014

Here is my Skylerbear with Jacky….which is the closest you will see me get to another dog.  Oh I have pals that I have played with like Checkers and Pip, both Jack Russells….no barking, no growling.  And there is little Nicholas down the street.  He’s a rescue too…a Westie Jack Russell mix, a lot smaller than me, and I am small for a Scottie. I like Nicholas, especially after he stopped putting his front paws on my back. I have not problems with  Dorrie, the Border Terrier next door.  This is  mostly because Dorrie is not interested in me very much, nor I in her.  Then there is Kenzie Parks.  We got to get groomed at the same time and don’t seem to have any problems, other than Mama picking her up and smooching on her, or rubbing her tummy.  I give Mama the stink eye while Aunt Ashley holds me.  . But as Mama will attest, I am not the friendliest guy to other dogs, and we can’t  quite figure out why. Mama blames herself …she says it’s her fault that we don’t socialize more because she is always afraid I will jump on the other dog…which is why I was on probation  on the only day I went to Camp, right after PawPaw died. I jumped on a little Schnauzer.  Of course Camp  was all new to me, but after that Mama decided that it wasn’t right for me cause I didn’t have any experience with other dogs, and it was unfair to me to all of a sudden be put in a pack of sorts.  So it’s kind of a chicken and egg  deal.  I go to Fala To The Rescue Day, and do pretty well, but when I get a little edgy, Mama takes me back to our room to rest a bit.  But I love my FB dog pals….they keep just the write ( Mama’s pun)  distance.

4 comments

  1. indyandlucy · April 14, 2015

    I understand; I feel the same way….Lucy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maggie Stanfill · April 14, 2015

    Blue here…. I am treated the same way… but at the park I run and run and I have a pack of dogs running behind me cause why??/ I ru so fast… like I had wings on my paws. lol lol lol……

    Like

  3. The Scottie Chronicles · April 15, 2015

    It’s so nice to meet you my new friend. Stay in touch, K?

    ARrOOOOOOO! Stuart

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Skyler Braveheart · April 15, 2015

    Helllo Stuart! We loved your art and post! We will be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

